On wisdom (or Unoriginality II)

I was lord over my domain,
and I gave my heart to search and seek out wisdom concerning all things done under the sky: these painful labours that God has given to man to occupy him.
I have seen all the works done under the sun; and behold, all is vanity and vexation of spirit.
That which is crooked cannot be made straight and that which is wanting is innumerable.
I communed with my heart, saying “See, I have received great estate, I have amassed more wisdom than all they before me in this land: truly my heart had great experience of wisdom and knowledge.”
And I gave my heart to know wisdom, and to know madness and folly: and I perceived that this is also vexation of spirit.
For in much wisdom is much grief: and he that increases knowledge increases sorrow.

Leave a Reply

